Whither Blogs?

I just read Blogs Wane as the Young Drift to Sites Like Twitter in today’s New York Times.  As someone who just started blogging two weeks ago, not comforting!  On the other hand, while the younger set may not read my blog, apparently I am in good company as “…people approaching middle age and older are sticking with it. Among 34-to-45-year-olds who use the Internet, the percentage who blog increased six points, to 16 percent, in 2010 from two years earlier, the Pew survey found.”

I’m  glad I selected WordPress as my blogging software since it “…is mostly for serious bloggers…”  Now, I will say, that’s a quote from an executive connected to WordPress, nevertheless, as a novice blogger, I have found WordPress really easy to use.  And, I would like to think  african.americana is a serious blog!

As for Twitter and Tumblr, which are both mentioned in the article, interestingly enough, I signed up for both last week, but haven’t done anything with them yet.  If and when I do, you’ll be the first to know.

This entry was posted in Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whither Blogs?

  1. rebecka says:

    hey von,

    send a link to your posts out over twitter. i’m not as faithful a blogger as you (i don’t even call myself a blogger, b/c i don’t have time to keep up with it). but when i write a longish piece or post some sort of notice, i post a link of it to both facebook and twitter. there are lots of 40ers on twitter, believe me.

    peace, rebecka

Leave a Reply

