Free Book Giveaway — The 100 Best African American Poems

To wrap up National Poetry Month I will be giving away a free copy of Nikki Giovanni’s The 100 Best African American Poems, which was published last fall.  The text actually includes more than 100 poems by poets such as Gwendolyn Brooks, Lucille Clifton, Robert Hayden, Langston HughesNatasha Trethewey, and Kevin Young just to name a few.

For a chance to win the book, please leave the title of your favorite poem in the comments section along with your first name (or pseudonym).  I will put everyone’s name in a container and select one this coming Thursday.  The deadline to enter is 8:00 p.m. EST Wednesday, April 27, 2011.  Cheers!

This entry was posted in Books, Poetry, Poets. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Free Book Giveaway — The 100 Best African American Poems

  1. Mocha Librarian says:

    Joy by Clarissa Scott Delany in Countee Cullen’s Caroling Dusk

  2. mb says:

    Langston Hughes – Let America Be America Again

  3. Shauna says:

    This was hard but I have to choose Ego Tripping by Nikki herself. She came to my school when I was in Jr. High and this is one of the poems she read & I have been a big fan every since. 🙂

  4. Linda says:

    Dream Deferred by Langston Hughes is one of my favorites.

  5. Vivian says:

    A Negro Love Song (Jump back, honey, jump back) by Paul Laurence Dunbar is one of my favorites. Great contest idea, thank you!!!

  6. JOHNNIE says:

    My favorite is “Creation” by James Weldon Johnson. It is dramatic, dynamic and appropriate for all ages.

  7. Yolanda I says:

    My favorite poem is “What If I am a Black Women” Author – Unknown

  8. Gregg says:

    “The Negro Speaks of Rivers” by Langston Hughes. I remember reciting this poem during my fourth-grade Black History Month program

Leave a Reply

