African Americans in Classical Music – Part 3

This will be the last post in the classical music series.  While I would not call myself a classical music devotee, I do have an appreciation for the genre which started early in my life.  My mom is a musician and has degrees in music and I remember going to the symphony as a youngster and hearing the church choir perform Amahl and the Night and Handel’s Messiah.

A few years ago I had a chance to hear the Ritz Chamber Players in North Carolina and  last Friday night, I attended “An Evening at Carnegie Hall” a concert at Takoma Park Baptist Church in Washington, DC featuring Lisa Edwards-Burrs, soprano; Raymond Jackson, pianist; Marquita Lister, soprano; Patrick D. McCoy, tenor; William Jones, pianist; Kelvin L. Page, tenor; Mickey Thomas Terry, organist; Marc Schlosberg, clarinetist; and Angela Wray, soprano.

While this is my last post on classical music, the conversation can continue.  Feel free to leave a comment about your exposure to classical music, favorite artists, etc. See links below for more information or just google “african americans in classical music.”

Additional Resources and Information
> A Brief History of Blacks in Opera from the Root, posted May 22, 2011
> Review of Scott Joplin’s Treemonisha from last week’s New York Times
>
AfriClassical.com: African Heritage in Classical Music
>AfriClassical Blog
> The African American Voice in Classical Music – online talk show by Patrick D. McCoy
> Harlem Opera Theater
> New York based Opera Ebony
> Opera Noire of New York

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to African Americans in Classical Music – Part 3

  1. Mom says:

    I am so happy that you still have appreciation for classical music —that you remember Amahl and the Night Visitors (Menotti) and Handel’s Messiah. I’d like you to listen to Afro-American Symphony by William Grant Still, the Negro Folk Symphony by William Levi Dawson, and Antonin Dvorak’s Symphony from the New World. These pieces are based on or contain idioms or themes from Negro folk music (i.e. Negro spirituals).
    Love your blog!!!
    Mom

    • Terri says:

      Dear Von,

      As a mother myself, I know how happy your mom must feel having exposed you to classical music genre. My children also love opera, classical music, etc.

      I too was at the recent “Carnegie Hall” recital at Takoma Park Baptist Church. What a wonderful display of talent!

      Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

      Regards,
      Terri A.

      • Von says:

        Hi Terri,

        You were the MC, right? I loved how you took us on a journey to New York City that night! It was a wonderful event! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

