Regina Anderson Andrews: Harlem Renaissance Librarian

reginaIn 2011 I wrote about a friend who was working on the first book length biography of Regina Anderson Andrews. I am pleased to announce Regina Anderson Andrews: Harlem Renaissance Librarian by Dr. Ethelene Whitmire has just been published by University of Illinois Press.

Ms. Andrews was a trailblazer, an activist, playwright and librarian.  She started at the famous 135th Street Branch of the New York Public Library (NYPL).  She eventually worked at other branches and became the first African American branch manager in NYPL history.

To celebrate its publication, I’m giving away one free copy.  If interested, just leave a comment by Tuesday, May 27, 2014. I will announce the recipient on Wednesday, May 28th.  Cheers!

This entry was posted in Books, Librarians, Libraries, Women, Writers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Regina Anderson Andrews: Harlem Renaissance Librarian

  1. I love libraries — the Universe of mystery! I’m a huge fan of The Librarian three-movie series, and recently learned that it’s going to become a TV series.

    I would love a copy of the book.

    Thank you.

  2. Johnny Roberts says:

    Essential history….Thanks for this!

  3. Ollie says:

    Thanks. How are you?

  4. Von says:

    Thanks to all who entered. The winner is Ollie!

  5. ollie watson says:

    I want to join Ms. Ethelene in congratulating you for your excellent and history making work. I also want to thank you for keeping me informed regarding everything that is happening in our community. I’ve read the jacket, acknowledgments, and introduction to the book. I will read the rest on the train when I go home in July.

    Love,

    Mrs. Watson

     

Leave a Reply

